Homemade Apple Spice Gluten-free Sugar-free Granola

Image

I got hooked in a bad way on some local gluten-free granola. Bad because it tastes so good, but to sweet for my body and its too pricey for my wallet. So I needed to figure out my own version.

I haven’t always been able to eat oats; they bothered me despite getting certified gluten-free ones (oats are often cross-contaminated with wheat in processing, but the oats themselves are gluten-free). I was persistent in trying them out periodically, and later found I was able to tolerate them. Having to move away so much fat on purely nut-based granolas (due to gallbladder issues), which I was doing on an anti-candida diet, I embraced oats again.

A good source of cheaper Gluten-free oats is Bob’s Red Mill on Vitacost. Your local health food store may charge much more.

I often make this when I first wake up, since I have to wait an hour to eat (stupid thyroid medicine). Then smell the cinnamon apple goodness through the house all day.

I have yet to find a commercial granola that’s not overly sweet. Yes I tolerate some no-sugar sweeteners but I find raisins and fruit, just a little bit of stevia and the fruit is enough. Much more economical than buying natural gluten-free cereal too.

Oh, If you are oat-free, I have a recipe in the works for you too. Check back soon.Image

Homemade Apple Spice Gluten-free Sugar-free Granola

ingredients:

2 cups GF certified oats

½ cup sunflower seeds or another nut (walnut pieces are nice here)

1 Tbsp mesquite powder (optional—it helps sweeten without affecting blood sugar much)

¼ tsp orange stevia (plain or another flavor is fine) –I like NuNaturals brand or SweetLeaf*

1 tsp cinnamon

pinch ginger powder

1 medium apple, grated or food processed

pinch salt

1/4 cup almond butter, tahini, or peanut butter (pick your fave!)

¼ cup water

2 Tbsp ground chia or flax

½ tsp vanilla

at the end: ½ cup raisins, ¼ cup cocoa nibs

directions:

Mix all ingredients but almond butter and water. Add almond butter and water. You may need to smoosh it together with your hands.

Spread thinly onto parchment paper or silpat-lined baking sheet.

Bake at 300 degrees for 20 minutes, stir, bake 20 more minutes. Stir, then bake 20 more, an hour total. Stir it up! Then turn off the oven and let it sit in there 10 more minutes while the oven cools to get it super crunchy.

Mix in raisins and cocoa nibs (optional)

Let cool before packaging.

*To amp up the sweetness, I’d use 1/3 cup maple syrup or coconut nectar or coconut sugar (which isn’t as sweet as cane sugar).

5 thoughts on “Homemade Apple Spice Gluten-free Sugar-free Granola

  1. Thanks! This is a great recipe and I think if i put it through the processor after I make it, I can give out to my baby too!

    I am also on thyroid medicine and I dislike that I have to wait an hour to eat. Sometimes, by the time an hour is up, I’m to busy and I don’t get as chance to east for a few more hours! Also, did you know that your have to wait two hours to eat anything with iron in it? I eat a lot of iron rich foods, so that ads to my frustration. I’m kinda new to the thyroid medicine, so I’m still adjusting to this life style.

    • I did not know that about iron. I should switch my iron supplement to the evening then. I tend to eat more iron-rich stuff at night so hopefully that won’t mess things up too much. It’s so frustrating, I have to take so many things every few hours. I spend all day keeping track of it.

      I never seem to forget to eat after that hour. I admit sometimes I fall back asleep because I end up waiting in bed, before food I am too weak to do much.

      • My mom works in health care. She toldme that if a patient is scheduled to wake at 7 am, the quietly wake them at 6 am, give them their pill, and let them fall back to sleep for the last hour. This could not work for me because I have trouble falling asleep no matter how tired I am, but maybe for you?

  2. I find most commercial granolas have too much sugar and fat. Your recipe sounds about right! Welcome back to blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

