Mimic Creme Ice Cream

mimic cream ice creamI love ice cream. But not the dairy and sugar. I’ve been pretty satisfied this summer with some of the dairy-free sugar-free options out there, like the No Sugar Added So Delicious Coconut Ice Cream, and Coconut Bliss ice cream sweetened with agave nectar only. But there’s something extra special about making your own ice cream.

I’ve had a box of Mimic Creme for awhile that I got as a gift. Today I needed (okay wanted) ice cream, and I remembered this stuff in the fridge.

mimiccremeI haven’t tried this recipe without an ice cream maker, but I hear one can freeze the mixture then stir every so often to prevent it from getting too hard. Please leave me a note if you’ve tried that.

Mimic Cream Chocolate Ice Cream (no sugar, gluten-free, vegan)

makes 3-4 servings

ingredients:

  • 1 16 oz box MimicCreme
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp stevia drops
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Blend everything together, enough to mix but not enough to get hot. Pour mixture into the ice cream maker, and follow manufacturer’s instructions (for me that means make sure I’ve frozen the metal part for at least 24 hrs and to just press on). If it’s still soft, freeze a little longer until it’s the consistency you like. Enjoy!

Mimic Creme ice cream chocolate

Here’s the consistency after it was in the freezer an hour.

Hope you are enjoying Vegan Mofo so far. I’ve been seeing so many creative ideas.

3 thoughts on “Mimic Creme Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

