Allergic Solutions Bread Mix

Image

This summer I tried out some new bread mixes for gluten-free bread. I’ve eaten gluten-free so long, I don’t really think about bread much more, it’s just something I can’t have. I no longer long for it; it makes me too sick to think about it. When I look at bread these days I don’t drool I just worry about crumbs falling into my food. (Yup, celiac disease is not joke, cross-contaminiation is very real.)

At first glance I was a little worried about this bread, Allergic Solutions Yeast-Free Bread Mix. Especially given it’s short ingredient list: chickpea flour, tapioca flour, xantham gum, baking soda and salt. I mean I’ve made flatbreads with this few ingredients, but a fluffy bread? I was skeptical. The additional ingredients you add at home are: chia seeds, apple cider vinegar, oil and water.

As for ease of making it: pretty easy, other than the chia seeds. I had planned on making this at a friend’s this summer but I forgot a way to grind the chia seeds. So if you don’t have access to chia seeds (which are expensive) or a grinder (high speed blender or coffee/spice grinder), that could be a deterrent. I wonder if ground flax seeds would work, and were not offered as an option on the instructions because they are a potential allergen? If they are, it might be a nice idea to list that for people who might have more access to those.

As for the bread, it was easy to assemble once I had the chia seeds ground. I was really surprised at how high it rose. It was almost so high it touched the top of my oven. It smelled very good. Browned nicely.

I did add some more salt to it to the next time I made it. Even better. I like salt.

The bread was nice and moist and tasty. The chickpea taste was not overwhelming. The only downside is this bread is pretty crumbly. Hard to eat as a sandwich. And best eaten warm, as with most GF breads. Not a very crusty bread, the whole thing was very soft. But nowhere near a cardboard brick as some GF breads are.

I didn’t get many pictures as I wasn’t thinking about blogging when I was making it, but here it is sliced with a veggie burger in between. With some fresh tomatoes from a relative’s garden.

I would definitely get this again if it was available at my local grocery store. I really liked it and I am craving a warm slice right now. I am so used to not eating bread, it’s more of a treat, but it was nice to have nice bread around for once.

Keep in mind I don’t usually eat bread and haven’t for awhile so I am just giving an opinion on how this product was without comparison to other bread.

I would love to see more products like these without sugar, vegan, gluten-free and low allergy ingredients. I also have their cake mix to try out. I will save that for another post.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

