Eggplant Jerky

eggplant jerky

I’ve mentioned before I love snacks. I also sometimes dislike eating tons of veggies, even though I know they are good for me. I’m not always in the mood and sometimes the texture throws me.

One of my tricks is the change the texture. Make a soft veggie crunchy, make a hard veggie soft, as your appetite desires.

eggplant uncut

I had enough of soft eggplant, but still had more left over from last week. So I sliced some up and threw them in the dehydrator to make jerky.

I know not everyone has a dehydrator. You can certainly cook these but it won’t get the same texture. I recommend low and slow–not sure how long– but let me know if you try it.

eggplant jerkey 2

Eggplant Jerky

ingredients:

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

1-2 Tbsp fresh chives and oregano (or 1/2 tsp dried)

1/2 tsp chili powder (not pepper, the powder which is a combo of spices)

1/4 tsp cumin

2 Tbsp tamari

1/2 tsp salt

1 large eggplant

Cut eggplant into this slices. The best way to do this is with a mandolin slicer. Salt the eggplant by shaking salt onto the slices in a drainer then letting it sit 1-2 hrs (optional but helps with texture). This helps remove some of the water. When done, pat dry with a towel.

Mix the vinegar, tamari, salt and spices in a small bowl to make a marinade. Place eggplant slices into a large dish. Layer if needed. Pour marinade over the eggplant slices. Make sure each slice gets saturated. Marinate 30 min-1 hr.

(To waste less, I did my half the slices in round, then re-used the marinade on the second round of slices.)

Place the eggplant slices in a dehydrator at 115 degrees and dehydrate 8 hrs or overnight until very dry and jerky-like.

+++

I just saw How to Survive a Plague, a documentary about the AIDS crisis. I hope someday we have that level of activism and government attention from lyme. And maybe someday we will have a combination of drugs or herbs (or both–my current plan) that works more effectively.

150812_how_to_survive_a_plague_t

One thought on “Eggplant Jerky

  1. My dehydrator is still in Wisconsin, and when I see posts like this I wish it were here. In truth, I didn’t use it all that much, but I sure appreciated having it to dehydrate tomatoes and other stuff.

Leave a Reply

