Summer Rolls with Almond Butter Dipping Sauce

summer rolls summer rolls with AB sauce

I used to live in a city that had a large Vietnamese population. You could get delicious summer rolls (also called fresh rolls) many places. I think they are called summer rolls to distinguish between the fried greasy Chinese-restaurant spring rolls. Summer rolls are much lighter then spring rolls and mostly raw veggies, very healthy. If you make the sauce yourself, you can also make a sugar-free version, since often the sauce can be way too sweet.

A note on Beyond Meat: this is a gluten-free meat alternative, made primarily with soy and pea protein. I love the smokiness and the texture of it, it’s much more dense than tofu. I don’t eat tons of soy, but I do made exception for this! Delicious!

Summer Rolls with Almond Butter Dipping Sauce (sugar-free, gluten-free, vegan)

ingredients:

  • Rice wrappers (one pack–found in the Asian section of the grocery store or in a specialty shop)
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced into matchsticks
  • 1 cucumber, sliced into matchsticks.
  • Head of lettuce torn into pieces the size of your hand
  • fresh basil–enough to have 2 leaves per rolls
  • fresh mint–enough to have 2 leaves per roll
  • Beyond Meat strips (which are gluten-free!) or baked tofu strips or something similar

For the sauce:

  • 2 Tbsp Almond butter or your favorite nut butter (I did some with peanut butter too)
  • 2 Tbsp Hot water
  • 1/2 Lemon, squeezed
  • 1 teaspoon Wheat-free tamari or coconut aminos for a soy-free choice
  • 1/8 tsp salt (depending on the sodium content of the tamari)
  • 4 drops stevia (I used orange but plain is good)

To make the sauce:

Mix all the ingredients together with a fork. Adjust water if needed. Mix until creamy. Consistency will vary depending on the thickness of your nut butter. If you are nut-free, try using tahini or a nut butter alternative of your choice.

To make the rolls:

Heat a pan on the stovetop with water to just warm. Make sure it’s wide enough to be able to put the wraps in. Gather the mint, basil, carrots, cukes, and lettuce and beyond meat into little bowls so you can easily assemble.

Take a rice wrap and place into the warm water. Turn it over, then soak just a few seconds until it’s soft. Place onto a surface such as a cutting board or plate. Pile a piece of lettuce, the veggies, a few pieces of mint, basil, then a piece of tofu or beyond meat in the center all going horitontal. Fold the wrap by folding up the bottom over the center ingredients, then fold the sides in nice and tight, then roll up.

If that was confusing, I found this video of a guy wrapping up rice wrap but using a different filling.

Here’s some packed for my husband to take to work tomorrow.

summer rolls in lunch box

And in other news, I finished this crochet pumpkin I’ve been working on. Anyone else crochet? I’ve never done anything stuffed before this. As you can see I’m ready for fall even though I’ve been eating summer rolls.

pumpkin crochet

sharing this recipe on Wellness Weekend

2 thoughts on “Summer Rolls with Almond Butter Dipping Sauce

  1. I love fresh spring rolls so much I think I could eat them every day. We can easily buy them, but the homemade ones seem to taste much better. I’ve never tried beyond meat and it makes me a little uncomfortable. We usually use tofu in the rolls but sometimes I make spicy soy curls to put inside.

  2. I’ve never had summer rolls before; I should try to make these sometime. (Haven’t tried Beyond Meat yet, either.)
    Ah, what a cute little crochet pumpkin! 🙂

Leave a Reply

